Chocolate City Music is a Nigerian record label founded in 2005 by lawyer Audu Maikori, along with Paul Okeugo and Yahaya Maikori. Generally regarded as one of the most successful indigenous urban record labels in Africa, Chocolate City Music operates as a subsidiary of Chocolate City Group.

The label is home to recording artists such as: Femi Kuti, Blaqbonez, Young Jonn, Noon Dave, Candy Bleakz, Tar1Q, Major AJ. Artists formerly signed to the label include Ckay, M.I Abaga, Dice Ailes, Victoria Kimani, Ice Prince, DJ Caise, DJ Lambo, Jeremiah Gyang, Ruby Gyang, Pryse, Brymo, Koker and Jesse Jagz.

Chocolate City has set up partnerships with many international and regional creative industry organizations, with affiliates in South Africa, U.K and the US, the Ministry of Culture and Tourism and the British Council toward promoting and celebrating creativity in Nigeria

On 28 March 2019, Warner Music Group announced a partnership with the label. Under the partnership, Chocolate City artists will join WMG’s repertoire and receive the support of the company’s distribution and artist services via its independent label services division, ADA.

Chocolate City was the first Nigerian music company to attain a global music award and recognition by the British Council, as well as working closely with the federal government of Nigeria in promoting the creative industries and capacity-building projects in and around Nigeria.

Back to top